Repertoire Search

Witold Lutosławski

Publisher: Chester Music

Partita for violin and piano (1984)
commissioned by the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra
Work Notes
Chester Music is the publisher of this work in all territories except Poland, Albania, Bulgaria, China, countries of the former Czechoslovakia, Cuba, North Korea, Vietnam, Romania, Hungary and the whole territory of the former USSR, where the copyright is held by Polskie Wydawnictwo Muzyczne (PWM).
Chester Music Ltd (Polish Works)
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
15 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Witold Lutosławski Partita for violin and piano (1984)
I composed Partita for violin and piano in the Autumn of 1984 at the request of the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra for Pinchas Zukerman and Marc Neikrug.

The work consists of five movements. Of these the main movements are the first (allegro giusto), the third (largo) and the fifth (presto). The second and fourth are but short interludes to be played ad libitum. A short ad libitum section also appears before the end of the last movement.

The three major movements to follow, rhythmically at least, the tradition of pre-classical (18th century) keyboard music. This, however, is no more that an allusion. Harmonically and melodically, Partita clearly belongs to the same group of recent compositions as Symphony no 3 and Chain 1.

Pinchas Zukerman and Marc Neikrug gave the first performance on 18 January 1985 at the Ordway Music Theatre, Saint Paul, Minnesota.

Witold Lutoslawski November 1984

  • Soloist(s)
    A. Beikircher, violin / M. Huth, piano
    Arte Nova:
  • Soloist(s)
    Isabelle Faust, violin / Ewa Kupiec, piano
    Harmonia Mundi:
  • Ensemble
    Wilanow Quartet
    M. Wasiolka, cello / M. Paderewski, piano T. Gadzina, violin / M. Paderewski, piano
  • Soloist(s)
    R. Szreder, violin / B.J. Strobel, piano
  • Soloist(s)
    M. Thorsen, violin / H. Gimse, piano
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.