Repertoire Search

Witold Lutosławski

Publisher: Chester Music

Dance Preludes [Preludia taneczne] (1954)
Work Notes
Chester Music is the publisher of this work in all territories except Poland, Albania, Bulgaria, China, countries of the former Czechoslovakia, countries of the former Yugoslavia, Cuba, North Korea, Vietnam, Romania, Hungary and the whole territory of the former USSR, where the copyright is held by Polskie Wydawnictwo Muzyczne (PWM).
Chester Music Ltd (Polish Works)
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
7 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Witold Lutosławski Dance Preludes [Preludia taneczne] (1954)

DANCE PRELUDES were written in 1954 for Clarinet and Piano.

Although the work is based on folksongs from Northern Poland, the folk element minglesindecipherably with the composer’s customary skill, resulting in five little movements of considerable charm, lasting for about seven minutes. The individual movements are:

I. Allegro molto
II. Andantino
III. Allegro giocoso
IV. Andante
V. Allegro molto

In 1955, the composer reworked the DANCE PRELUDES for Clarinet and orchestra and four years later produced a third version scored for Wind Quintet and Solo Strings.

© Sheila MacCrindle January 1984

  • Ensemble
    Sinfonietta Cracovia
    Michel Lethiec, clarinet / Isabelle Moretti, harp / François Leleux, oboe / François Salque, cello
    Robert Kabara
  • Hyperion:
  • Soloist(s)
    M. Ragge, oboe / A. Martin-Davis, piano A. Martin-Davis, piano / S. Legg, piano D. Prescott, clarinet / A. Martin-Davis, piano A. Martin-Davis, piano
  • Soloist(s)
    Paul Dean
    ABC Classics:
  • Ensemble
    BBC Symphony Orchestra
    Michael Collins, clarinet; Tasmin Little, violin
    Edward Gardner
  • Soloist(s)
    Fides auf der Maur (clarinet), Michiko Tsuda (piano)
    Koch Discover International:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.