Repertoire Search

Witold Lutosławski

Publisher: Chester Music

Bukoliki [Bucolics] (1952)
Work Notes
Chester Music is the publisher of this work in all territories except Poland, Albania, Bulgaria, China, countries of the former Czechoslovakia, countries of the former Yugoslavia, Cuba, North Korea, Vietnam, Romania, Hungary and the whole territory of the former USSR, where the copyright is held by Polskie Wydawnictwo Muzyczne (PWM).
Chester Music Ltd (Polish Works)
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
5 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Witold Lutosławski Bukoliki [Bucolics] (1952)

Written in 1952 for solo piano, Bucolics is based on Polish folk melodies. This short piece (duration 5 minutes) was first performed by the composer, himself an accomplished pianist, in Warsaw in December 1953 and is in five movements:

1. Allegro vivace
2. Allegretto sostenuto
3. Allegro molto
4. Andantino
5. Allegro marciale

  • Soloist(s)
    Paul Cortese (viola), Herwig Coryn (cello)
    Crystal Records:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.