Repertoire Search

Thea Musgrave

Publisher: Novello & Co

Impromptu No 1 (1967)
Work Notes
written for Douglas Whittaker and Janet Craxton
Chester Music Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
4 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Thea Musgrave Impromptu No 1 (1967)
Impromptu for flute and oboe was written in 1967. As the title implies it is a short light-hearted work. It is based on a short distinctive phrase heard at the outset. This returns many times at different pitches and always with a different continuation.

Thea Musgrave

  • Soloist(s)
    Douglas Whittaker / Janet Craxton
    BBC Radio Classics:
  • Soloist(s)
    Diane Gold / Rheta Smith
  • Ensemble
    The Mühlfeld Ensemble / English Serenata
    Stephen Varcoe, baritone
    Clarinet Classics:
  • Soloist(s)
    Nancy Ruffer (flute) John Anderson (oboe) Helen Crayford (piano)
    Dutton Vocalion:
  • Soloist(s)
    Emily Beynon, flute; Alexei Ogrintschouk, oboe
    Channel Classics:
  • Soloist(s)
    Nicholas Daniel, The Chilingirian Quartet, Joy Farrall, Emer McDonough, James Turnbull, Huw Watkins
    Harmonia Mundi:
The mix of instruments is well shaded off with respect to the finest tonal and dynamic nuances - here we have chamber music at the highest level; the musical interaction is palpable.
Dr. Jürgen Schaarwächter, www.Klassik.Com,10/08/2013
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.