Repertoire Search

Esa-Pekka Salonen

Publisher: Chester Music

Yta III (1986)
Chester Music Ltd
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
6 Minutes
Programme Note
Esa-Pekka Salonen Yta III (1986)
I began to work on the YTA series in 1982. The first piece was for solo alto flute, the second for piano and the third, as performed this evening, for cello. The title, ‘Yta’, is in Swedish, and means ‘surface’. I wanted to write very demanding virtuoso music, where the surface is extremely busy, but the formal process, partly hidden behind the frenetic stream of fast gestures, is considerably slower.

YTA III is the only instrumental work of mine with any kind of programmatic content. I tried to imagine what happens to the famous moth, that circles around a lamp in Skryabin’s ‘Vers a flamme’, after the wings have finally touched the flame. A series of gestures is introduced in the beginning. Each gesture undergoes an individual development, culminating in spasms before dying away. YTA III is a study of the death of an organism; the ugliest and most violent piece I’ve written.

© Esa-Pekka Salonen

  • Ensemble
    Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra / Avanti! Cahmber Orchestra
    Tuija Hakkila, piano / Mikael Helasvuo, flute / Anssi Karttunen, cello / Anu Komsi, soprano / Kari Krikku, clarinet / Pekka Savijoki, alto saxophone / Jukka Tiensuu, harpsichord / Jorma Valjakka, oboe
    Esa-Pekka Salonen
  • Ensemble
    Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra / Avanti! Chamber Orchestra
    Pekka Savijoki, alto saxophone / Jorma Valjakka, oboe / Mikael Helasvuo, alto flute / Tuija Hakkila, piano / Anssi Karttunen, cello / Anu Komsi, soprano
    Esa-Pekka Salonen
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.