Repertoire Search

Esa-Pekka Salonen

Publisher: Chester Music

Yta I (1982)
Chester Music Ltd
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
5 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Esa-Pekka Salonen Yta I (1982)
Six years ago I started to dream of a large collection of virtuoso solo pieces which would be connected to each other on a principal level, if not directly, materially. I began to work on the YTA series in 1982. The first piece was for solo alto flute, the second for piano and the third for cello. The title, YTA, is in Swedish and means ‘surface’. In a way it describes one aspect common for the whole series: the structure of the surface is also the superstructure. In one-level musical situation changes of the surface are the musical content of the work or at least a major part of it.

© Esa-Pekka Salonen

  • Soloist(s)
    Mikael Helasvuo, alto flute
  • Ensemble
    Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra / Avanti! Cahmber Orchestra
    Tuija Hakkila, piano / Mikael Helasvuo, flute / Anssi Karttunen, cello / Anu Komsi, soprano / Kari Krikku, clarinet / Pekka Savijoki, alto saxophone / Jukka Tiensuu, harpsichord / Jorma Valjakka, oboe
    Esa-Pekka Salonen
  • Ensemble
    Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra / Avanti! Chamber Orchestra
    Pekka Savijoki, alto saxophone / Jorma Valjakka, oboe / Mikael Helasvuo, alto flute / Tuija Hakkila, piano / Anssi Karttunen, cello / Anu Komsi, soprano
    Esa-Pekka Salonen
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.