Repertoire Search

Kaija Saariaho

Publisher: Chester Music

It is rare when a new work sounds completely convincing and lucid at first hearing; thanks to Saraste and Karttunen, that was the case with Notes on Light. — The Boston Herald

Terra Memoria, a masterful new 15-minute string quartet by Finnish-born Kaija Saariaho. She is, quite simply, one of the most original compositional voices of our time. — Kyle MacMillan, Denver Post

Her elemental idea, which can be found in dozens of her scores, is an oceanic expanse of sound, one that shifts before one’s ears and quivers with hidden life. Saariaho’s work...moves between extremes of pure tone and noise, often finding a cryptic beauty in the middle zone. — Alex Ross, The New Yorker
Key Works:
Career Highlights:
  • 2011 awarded the prestigious Léonie Sonning Music Prize
  • 2009 awarded Wihuri Sibelius Prize
  • 2008 Composer-in-Residence, Mostly Mozart, Lincoln Center, New York
  • 2007 awarded Nemmers prize in music composition
  • 2006 premiere of Adriana Mater, Bastille Opera
  • 2003 awarded the Grawemeyer Prize for L’Amour de loin
  • 1991 composition of ballet music Maa, premiered by Finnish National Ballet
  • 1989 awarded Ars Electronica Prize for Stilleben and Io; one year residency at the University of San Diego
  • 1986 awarded Kranichsteiner Prize at Darmstadt
  • 1976-81 studies composition with Paavo Heinen at the Sibelius

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.