Repertoire Search

John Corigliano

Publisher: G. Schirmer

John Corigliano’s musical language is unique and unmistakable yet rooted in the grand traditions of the past. While his music is often harmonically complex and rhythmically challenging, he also dares to write a simple, beautiful melody, which is unusual in our time. He is a performer’s dream — every note has a place, a direction and a purpose, and his mastery of sound colour in orchestration is unparalleled.
Joshua Bell, Gramophone
Key Works:
Career Highlights:
  • 2010 The Metropolitan Opera releases the original production of The Ghosts of Versailles on DVD
  • 2008 Conjurer premiered by Evelyn Glennie and performed by nine orchestras in North America and Europe
  • 2001 Awarded Pulitzer Prize for Symphony No. 2
  • 2000 Academy Award for score to The Red Violin
  • 1997 Grammy Award for Of Rage and Remembrance and Symphony No. 1 with National Symphony and Leonard Slatkin
  • 1991 The Ghosts of Versailles premiered to celebrate the centenary of the Metropolitan Opera
  • 1991 Received Grawemeyer Award for Symphony No.1
  • 1987-90 Composer-in-Residence at the Chicago Symphony