Repertoire Search


Rued Langgaard

Born: 1893

Died: 1952

Nationality: Danish

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Rued Langgaard was a Danish composer and organist. Langgaard expressed himself in a late Romantic idiom but also wrote radically experimental works. In his own self-image he existed in an oppositional relationship to the leading Danish composer of the time, Carl Nielsen, and throughout his life he felt overlooked as both composer and organist. Langgaard has written 16 symphonies and several major orchestral works. He was a Protestant, however at times attracted to both theosophical philosophy and mysticism. Many of his significant works bear distinctive and evocative titles such as Music of the Abyss (1924), Fantasia of Madness (1949), Flood of Sun (1951), Antichrist (1923-1930) and Music of the Spheres (1918).  

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.