Repertoire Search

Niels Rosing-Schow

Born: 1954

Nationality: Danish

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Photo © Lars Skaaning

Niels Rosing-Schow, born 1954 in Copenhagen, studied musicology at the University of Copenhagen from 1972 to 1979. In 1984 he passed the diploma examination in music history and music theory at the Royal Danish Academy of Music in Copenhagen, where he now teaches theory classes and composition. From 1984 to 1987 he studied composition with Ib Nørholm, and afterwards in France in 1987.

A marked sense of lyrical expression has always been a characteristic of Niels Rosing-Schow, but in the later years he has combined this with an experimental exploration of the more dramatic and expansive possibilities of his musical material. Niels Rosing-Schow has composed works commissioned by among others The Copenhagen Philharmonic, The Odense Symphony Orchestra, The Capricorn Ensemble, the Danish Radio, the Lin Ensemble, the Athelas Ensemble and the Royal Theatre, Copenhagen. 

His most important works include Trio per flauto, viola ed arpa (1983), the ensemble works Extraction (1985), Double (1987), ...Sous les rales du vent d'est (1993), the orchestra pieces Twofold (1982) and Chamber Concerto for alto flute, viola and orchestra (1988), the vocal works Chants de l'ombre (1987) for mixed chorus and Archipel des solitudes (1995) for mezzo soprano, chorus and large orchestra and the chamber operas Fire (1989) and The Judgment(1996). Niels Rosing-Schow received the Wilhelm Hansen Composer Prize 2000.
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.