Repertoire Search
News - Anders Koppel: First performance in Vienna, 17th November 2006

Monday, November 13, 2006
On 17th November 2006 Martin Grubinger and the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra are giving Anders Koppel’s Fourth Marimba Concerto its first performance in the Musikverein in Vienna. The concerto was commissioned by the Wiener Mozartjahr 2006 and is part of the city’s major celebration of Mozart’s 250th birthday. Anders Koppel is the only Dane who has been invited to compose a work for the Wiener Mozartjahr 2006 and his Fourth Marimba Concerto has the subtitle In Remembrance of the Perishable, – a sentence he once saw on an old marble stone in a romantic Swedish forest, and the piece was written in the awareness that even what we regard as eternal – like Mozart’s music – will one day perish; if not before, then when the sun is extinguished. In the concert in the Musikverein the first performance will be accompanied by his Concerto no. 3 for Marimba and Orchestra, which was also written for Martin Grubinger.

Back to List
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.