Repertoire Search
News - Danish Firsts

photo by Marianne Grøndahl
Saturday, October 1, 2005
Fact: Home of the Vikings.
Fact: Slightly less than twice the size of
Fact: The land of The Little Match Girl,
Thumbelina and The Ugly Duckling.
Fact: The high employment rate is primarily
due to the large number of women in the
Fact: Home of Hans Christian Andersen

We're talking about Denmark, of course, and
in the contemporary music arena, Denmark's
making waves abroad with a pair of concerts
featuring North American premieres.

Our neighbor to the North starts things off
in Victoria, British Columbia when, on 23
October, Aventa New Music features an evening
of first performances of works by Peter
Bruun, Svendt Hvidfelt Nielsen and Anders
Nordentoft. "We are very excited about this
event," notes music director William Linwood.
"Danish music and musicians have had a major
impact on our ensemble. Aventa's first
experience with Danish music was Bent
Sørensen's SHADOWLAND. This work made such an
impression on both our members and our
audience…Last spring, I had the opportunity
to travel to Copenhagen and meet with several
composers and…[afterwards] was able to plan
what we hope will be a very special concert.
It's excellent music and we are grateful for
the opportunity to bring it to our audience."

On the 31st, the second continental premiere
takes place on "mischief night" when ensemble
members of the Chicago Symphony present Bent
Sørensen's THE WEEPING WHITE ROOM. Programmed
as part of the orchestra's MusicNOW series,
Augusta Read Thomas - the CSO's
Mead-composer-in-residence - chose this work
because "Bent Sørensen's composition is an
exquisitely beautiful work - one of great
sensitivity, nuance and power." Given the
bewitching title, Sørensen shares, "As usual
the title came first. But where is that room?
And what is it? Who is weeping? I am not

Back to List
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.